Hello world!

In my blog we’ll be exploring romance: what is romance, how to bring more romance into your relationship, romantic ideas. I hope you will share your thoughts, comments and ideas.

What is romance?

Can you answer that question in 25 words or less?

When someone is asked to define romance or explain what is romantic, they are hard pressed to give a simple answer that is easily understood by others. Don’t believe me then you try to define romance in 25 words or less.

To add a bit of twistedness into the attempt to define romance, I’ll add that there are different reasons why people want romance, different reasons people want to try to experience romance: it differs between cultures, it differs between you and your sweetheart, it differs between men and women.

Sherlock Holmes states that when you eliminate a possible answer because it’s wrong, you are one step closer to finding the truth. So be a Sherlock. Look at possible answers and see if they help define romance or if the definition should be eliminated.

Onward to defining romance.

Do you consider what Elizabeth Barrett Browning wrote romantic?

“How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of every day’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.

I love with a passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints, I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life! and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.”

 

Give it a try. Does this as a definition for romance work for you? Does your sweetheart get that satisfied, lost-in-space look of love when you quote poetry to him or her?

I’d suggest that while poetry could be romantic it doesn’t define romance very well.

More next blog.

Again, if you believe you have a great definition of romance in 25 words or less, share it here or send it to me: Robert@RomanceAlive.com.

Just an FYI, I post these to the website a couple days before they hit this blog.

BTW, quoting poetry is usually like hard liquor – best served in small doses. Too much and it’ll ruin a perfectly good evening.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Like

  2. car repos says:

    Hey there admin, just wanted to leave a quick comment to say that I liked your post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

