Teaching an old dog new “romantic” tricks

You can’t teach an old dog new tricks. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Problem is, we can get too comfortable doing things today the way we did yesterday and the day before and the day before. This can lead to living in a rut (which is a grave with the ends kicked out).

I’ve come to believe we don’t really make life changes until we are forced by circumstances.

Last week my computer died.

For someone who usually spends 6-8 hours each day on the computer, this can present a real problem. Suddenly I’m trying to figure out how I’ll continue doing what I need to do when my computer has departed this life.

About six weeks ago I purchased an iPad. It was never purchased to replace my PC!

But life looked at me and decided I needed to do things differently, I needed to do my work differently, I needed to make some changes.

So I gave the iPad a pep talk, took out the manuals, and began to learn how to make life work with an iPad instead of a PC.

Sometimes our relationships get into ruts like this. Little romantic gestures are repeated with the precision of a Swiss watch. We become comfortable sitting on the same side of the sofa, watching the same shows, and touching each other in the same way.

So why not mix it up? Why not try a different way of romancing your sweetheart.

Instead of flowers, create a basket of fruit.
Instead of snuggling up with popcorn and a movie, read your sweetheart a story.
Instead of sitting at the same table at the same restaurant, create a picnic lunch.

You’re never too old to try something different or learn something new.

With the struggles I’m having with this new PC, I may just decide not to replace it.

(written from my iPad)

You can contact me: Robert@RomanceAlive.com.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Making Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

