Happy “Hug Your Sweetheart Day”

Earlier this week I received an email from 123Greetings.com informing me today is “Hug Your Sweetheart Day“.

Wow. I didn’t realize the banks and Post Office would be closed today along with all county and federal buildings. After all, I read it on the internet so it must be true.

As I read on I was told that hugging is quite an art.

You have to look for the right moment, set yourself in the right position, say the right words, then close your eyes just right.

But what about the sideways hug? Or the tent? Or . .  . .

If you don’t know it, I love hugs. I love to give them and receive them. I’ve even been told I’m a good hugger. That’s because I love to give and receive hugs.

And I don’t even think about all the contortions outlined in the email to “do it right”.

These days hugs have gotten a bad rap.

Too many people attach sexual connotations to hugs.

They think hugs are unacceptable.

Hugs are a great, safe way to tell someone you care. As Richard Flint states,

“(Hugs) are a special way for people to connect and share a silent moment of emotional connection . . . the most important silent statement of caring.”

Hugs are also a great way to romance your sweetheart.

In my book, “Growing Romance” I discuss that some people prefer to be romanced with touch. I’m one of those people.

For people like me, touch really says you care. It connects us.

There’s so much more about hugging/touching I discuss in the book.

So celebrate “Hug Your Sweetheart Day” and . . . hug your sweetheart. So what if it’s an “eCard Holiday.” It’s a great reason.

The same email also said Saturday is “Kiss & Make Up Day” . . . . Sounds like another reason to touch your sweetheart.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

