Valentine Your Sweetheart As They Favor

Valentine’s day is just three  days away.

And I keep hearing:

“Buy your sweetheart a diamond pendant for Valentine’s.”
“Nothing says ‘I love you’ like flowers.”
“Make your reservations for dinner now so you won’t spend Valentine’s waiting in line.”
“Take your sweetheart on a romantic cruise to . . . . “

It sounds like I must buy something . . .  add flowers . . . feed her something . . . take her somewhere . . . in order to treat my Valentine properly.

What a chore! How can I enjoy it?

I know my sweetheart better than to try to fulfill all those requirements for Valentine’s day.

She might enjoy the diamond.
She appreciates flowers.
But eating out with three hundred of our closest friend is tedious.
And a cruise to the Bahamas is not romantic.

Besides, that’s not how she wants to be romanced.

If I’m going to romance my sweetheart for Valentine’s, I’ll romance her in a way meaningful to her: Nothing forced, nothing expensive.

How does your sweetheart like to be romanced?

In quiet, intimate conversation, just the two of you?
Walking hand-in-hand along the beach or through the park?
Fixing dinner together, a joint effort taking as long as you want?
Maybe that diamond pendant?

I encourage you to take a little time today and think about what would be meaningful to your sweetheart for Valentine’s. Try something different this year. Maybe blend a couple ideas into a unique event.

Use the Platinum Rule of Romance.

Think of your sweetheart, be aware of his/her preference for romance. Then in an open-minded, receptive mode, let your mind trigger ideas.

Oh! Just thought of an idea I want to write down before I forget.

I’d love to hear about your Valentine’s adventure. Leave me a message or write me, Robert@RomanceALIVE.com.

Thanks to all of you who gave your input in the recent survey. And congratulations to Susan of Douglasville, GA. She and her sweetheart will be enjoying Candlelight and Poetry for Valentine’s day this year – courtesy of yours truely.  Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Valentine Your Sweetheart As They Favor

  1. I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Well written!

    Like

Leave a Reply

