A View on Receiving Romance

The other day an unusual view of romance slipped into my stream of thought.

I contemplated it, let it grow in my mind and gave it time to mature. As it aged, I realized I hadn’t considered this view before.

I’d like to take a juxtaposed view of romance and invite you to consider romance from this different viewpoint – a different side of romancing your sweetheart.

Ever watched someone try to be romantic and seen the attempt flop like a sprinter with his shoe laces tied together?

Ever seen your sweetheart do something for you and while they thought it would be very romantic – it really didn’t “work”? It didn’t really create that romantic moment between the two of you. It was like bringing a bottle of beer to a temperance society meeting. Nice idea, but . . .

What was your reaction?

Consider a different key to keeping romance alive in your relationship.

When your sweetheart’s attempt to be romantic or romance you in a new way “flops”, show appreciation for the attempt.

Maybe it didn’t feel romantic to you. But recognize the effort, respond positively and let your sweetheart know you appreciated that.

Whether literally or figuratively, don’t do the pat-them-on-the-head and say, “Nice try.”

Say a sincere “thank you.” Let your sweetheart know this touched you. After all, he/she wants to romance you. That should warm your heart.

I don’t alwatys suceed when I think I’m being romantic – and I spend a lot of time focusing on romance. I’m thankful when my sweetheart appreciates my attempts as well as my successes.

Whether today or on your birthday, next time your sweetheart attempts to romance you, respond positively.

Here’s to keep trying and appreciating. Robert@RomanceALIVE.com.

PS:

Recently I was interviewed by Richard Flint on his program, “Conversations With Richard.” If you’d like to listen to or share this with someone, here’s the link: http://www.richardflint.com/domains/richardflint.com/conversations/

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

