Listen Your Way To Romance

Recently I was asked to a “networking” lunch. Someone wanted to learn more about me and where I work.

I agreed to the meeting.

After maybe three minutes, this person launched into a recital of themselves, telling me their life story.

Final score: 50 minutes about them, 10 minutes about me.

The person had asked for an hour of my time in the middle of my day to learn about me.

Actions suggested it was 5 times more important for them to talk about themselves.

Ever had that happen to you?

Do you do that to your sweetheart – talk about you, you, you and never show interest in your sweetheart’s life?

Not attractive!

It’s easy to find someone to talk about themselves – difficult to find someone interested in listening to you?

So I challenge you to be different.
–  Ask questions about your sweetheart – his/her day.
–  Show your interest with your body language – lean forward.
–  Let your sweetheart talk uninterrupted.
–  Ask follow-up questions.

Back when I was dating and meeting women for the first time, I would ask lots of questions and get them telling me about themselves. I was interested.

Then along came my sweetheart.

First time we met, I had my questions ready. Funny thing happened. She kept asking me questions. This was new to me. It was humorous to observe: two people trying to ask the other questions instead of talking about ourselves.

Guess we figured out we were interested in each other.

Surprise your sweetheart. . . . Ask questions . . . Let the your sweetheart talk.
Two things will probably happen:
1)  You’ll learn about your sweetheart, and
2)  Your sweetheart will know you’re really interested in him/her.

And your sweetheart will feel valued . . . and find you attractive.

Isn’t that what it’s all about? I think so.

How was your Valentine’s? Share your experience with me either here or Robert@RomanceALIVE.com.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

