Lil’ Bit Romance

Usually I write on Mondays and Thursdays. Oops. This week got away from me.

How Romantic is this?

  • A friend of mine took his sweetheart for a hot air balloon ride over the Napa Valley.
  • Another friend bought his sweetheart a black opal pendant to match the opal they purchased in New Zealand.
  • I read about a gal who sent her sweetheart on a scavenger hunt: getting his nails done, getting a massage, getting a new outfit and meeting him in the parking lot of the most expensive restaurant in town.

WOW! I can’t measure up.

My attempts at romancing my sweetheart fall far short of these romantic adventures.

Do you feel like that? Your romantic gestures aren’t much?

You might feel that anything you do would come up short when compared to what others do. So you don’t try.

If I took that approach, I’d never do anything romantic for my sweetheart. I don’t have a spare thousand in my pocket for an opal or half that for the hot air balloon ride (in Atlanta).

But that’s OK. She doesn’t expect me to.

Neither does your sweetheart.

From my research I’ve concluded it’s not the expense nor grandeur of the romantic gesture. In fact an expensive or expansive gesture can turn your sweetheart off.

It’s simply the gesture.

  • Your sweetheart would probably feels romanced if you:
  • Took him/her kite flying, or
  • Went for a stroll together in a quiet park, or
  • Spent an unrushed  morning together sipping coffee and planning an evening out.

In romance, size and expense doesn’t matter. It’s about creating a memory you’ll both fondly remember.

If you have an opportunity to fly to the beach and watch the sunset over dinner – that’s great.

Realize, it’s the exception, the every now-and-then.

“Little” romantic things are even better.

Let the little things be the romantic things.

Keeping Your Romance Alive – Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

