Dressing for Romance – II

So you’re saying I have to ‘dress up’ to be romantic.”

Robert, is it realistic to say I need to look totally GQ in order to romance my sweetheart? I can’t be romantic in jeans?

“You telling me I have the wrong wardrobe for romance?”

Feedback indicates some of you heard this. And if that’s what you heard, I created a breakdown in communication.

If you read my book, attended a seminar or listen to one of my recordings, you’ll know I consistently talk about the importance of accurate communication. This is especially true if your sweetheart values being romanced with words.

If the words I use have a different meaning to you than what I meant, communication doesn’t happen. Romance gets lost in translation.

Dressing for Romance – take 2.

You can be romantic dressed for a black-tie dinner. You can be romantic in cutoffs and a t-shirt. There’s no one-size-fits-all romantic-suit or gown you can buy.

Dressing romantically is situational.

Recently I suggested romancing your sweetheart by flying a kite. This is romance by having fun. Couples need to play together. If you fly a kite in formal wear, it could distract from creating romance by having fun.

Hmmmm . . . .

I’m sitting here chuckling. “Dressing up” to go kite flying might actually create a moment that would live in infamy in your relationship. It also fits part of my definition of romance:

 “A special moment that enhances the relationship
in a way that is unique between the couple
and leaves a special memory.”

 Interesting.

We took an unexpected turn in this post, yet we’ll end up at the same destination.

To dress romantically:

  1. dress for your sweetheart – attractively and neatly;
  2. dress comfortably – so your sweetheart feels relaxed with you;
  3. dress intentionally – to deliberately create this special, romantic moment together.

The key is this: make it all about your sweetheart.

Hope this helped clarify my communication. Robert

You can always learn more about me and Romance Alive at www.RomanceALIVE.com.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

