Pickup Lines and Romance

“Someone must have shot you with a phaser set on stunning’.”
“You can call me Pooh, because all I want is you, honey.”
“Were you in Boy Scouts? Cause you sure have tied my heart in a knot.”

Pick up lines . . . . You’ve probably heard a few. Maybe you’ve used a few.

They’re corny, amusing, offensive and intriguing. They’re fodder for comedians.

And people continue using them.

Why? Well . . . they work.

Pick up lines are little more than conversation starters. They serve two purposes:

  1. They communicate “I’m interested in you”, and if original and tasteful,
  2. they draw the recipient into a conversation.

I realize you may not be looking for a way to start a conversation with a stranger at a bar or party but I invite you to continue reading.

Maybe you struggle with how to start a fun, romantic conversation with your sweetheart..

Why not put pick up lines to work in your relationship? Use them to let your sweetheart know, “I want to start a conversation with you”.

Here’s how.

Set aside time to spend with your sweetheart – just the two of you. You might need to be deliberate and set an appointment to take a walk or go for a ride.

Now find a fun pick up line to greet your sweetheart. If you can’t think one up, go online and search for pick up lines (like the ones above).

Meet up with your sweetheart and deliver your line:

“Do you mind if I sit down, cause Jamaican my heart race!”

You’ll both probably chortle. It may have been a while since your sweetheart had someone try a pick up line on them.

Now that you have your sweetheart’s attention, tell your sweetheart something you like about him/her.

You’ve succeeded.

One of my readers, Addie shared with me that before they started dating, her husband used this line on her, “Grow old with me.”

A rather bold line, I thought. But it must have worked.

Have a great pickup line you’ve used or heard? I’d love to hear it. Robert@RomanceALIVE.com.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

