You Can Be Romantic

You’ve asked a young child to throw a piece of paper into the trash. The ensuing conversation might be:

  • “No. I can’t do that!”
  • “Why not,” you ask.
  • “Cause my mommy (or daddy) didn’t give me permission.”

I  find this interesting. A child uses “I don’t have permission” as the reason they “can’t” do something.

What a convenient excuse. They can’t because they have not received specific permission from their parent.

As we mature, we might find ourselves facing decisions about life. We hesitate, vacillate, and procrastinate making a decision or taking action.

Then we’ll seek someone’s opinion about it – opinions from our best friend, our sweetheart, a co-worker.

“Do you think I should ___?” (You fill in the blank.)

What we’re really doing is looking for someone to give us permission. We look for the comfort of having someone else gives us permission.

People say,

    “I’m don’t think I’m the romantic type.”
    “I don’t feel comfortable with all that romance stuff.”

If you identify with that statement, I believe I can help you become the romantic your sweetheart desires.

Pretty bold statement, yes?

Here’s what we’ll do. I’m going to lead you through a series of steps to give you freedom to be romantic.

  1. Put yourself in the proper position – seated in a comfortable chair.
  2. Relax your shoulders.
  3. Take a deep breath.
  4. Listen carefully to my voice and let these words sink deep into your consciousness.

 “You have my permission to be romantic and romance your sweetheart.”

Does this seem a bit silly or simplistic?

Maybe it is. But if you’ve hesitated being romantic or found yourself fearing a lack of a romantic bone in your body, maybe you’ve just needed permission to be romantic.

Truth is, you don’t need my permission. Be empowered. Give yourself permission to romance your sweetheart.

Then become a bold romantic. I know you can. And now you have Robert’s permission.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

