Romantic Philematology

I’m concerned you might not be a student of Philematology.

Several noted scientists have become Philematologists: Cesare Lombroso, Elaine Hatfield, Charles Darwin.

I believe studying Philematology will strengthen your relationship. Studying with your sweetheart will bring more romance into your relationship.

What is Philematology? The study of kissing – defined as:

  1. “The act of pressing one’s lips against another person.” (Wikipedia)
  2.  “To touch or press with the lips slightly pursed, then part them and emit a smacking sound.” (Dictionary.com)

Historically, Philematologists say the first known written descriptions of mouth-to-mouth kissing are found 3,000 years ago in the Indian poem, “Mahabharata”, and in the Old Testament “Songs of Solomon”.

My concern?

Kissing in your relationship has become as stale as a scientific study of Philematology or sterile as a dictionary definition.
It’s routine, a throwaway act – hardly even a “hi”.

It hasn’t always been this way though, has it?

  • Remember your first kiss?
  • Remember the first time you kissed your sweetheart?

I do. I can still tell you the exact date, location and first girl I kissed.  It was exciting. It left me with a warm fuzzy. I knew the relationship had taken on a new meaning.

Truth is, you really can’t maintain the electricity of the first kiss in a long term relationship. And a bit of routine kissing in the relationship is not bad.

For instance, my sweetheart and I meet at the door with a kiss. After saying grace, we kiss. These “routine” kisses are part of our relationship – yet they’re also special.

How do I know they’re special? I’d miss one if it didn’t happened

Would I miss the “routine” kiss if it didn’t happen?

If your answer is yes, those kisses are still special. Don’t forget that. Go ahead and let them be routinely special.  Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

