Romantic Hints

Ever missed a hint? I have.

Several weeks ago my sweetheart dropped a 12-pack of hints in a single conversation – and I missed them.

Merriam defines the word “hint” as

“a statement conveying by implication what is preferred not to say explicitly.”

Thank you. Dropping hints doesn’t always work.

Before I walk away feeling justified, I’ll also accept part of the blame.

Here’s our story.

My sweetheart wanted time to complete a project. For the first time in a week she’d had time to focus on this.

I was thinking of an evening together, watching a video.

I was very focused on what I wanted, so focused I missed what she wanted. By the time I heard what she wanted, we’d gone too far down the road to my destination.

Two lessons I’ll share.

First, you can be so focused on your goal you miss an opportunity for romance.

For example, you get reservations at a new restaurant. It’s the place for a quiet, elegant dinner with exquisite food and a great cellar. Your focus is setting up this romantic dinner with your sweetheart.

Your sweetheart’s been talking about getting a sitter and enjoying a quiet, relaxed, intimate candlelight dinner that starts in the kitchen.

Your focus on an evening out misses creating memories with an evening in – which would romance your sweetheart more deeply.

The second lesson.
If there’s something you’d like to do and your sweetheart doesn’t seem to get the hint, say it directly – here’s what I’d like to do. Your sweetheart may not have really heard your idea (the topic of another article) and when he/she realizes it, might enthusiastically embrace this alternative.

The result of both – your relationship wins.

Here’s the idea to go:
Don’t be so focused on what you want you miss a better opportunity.
If your sweetheart doesn’t get the hint, say it directly.

Hope you had a great Thanksgiving. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

