Taking Time For Romance

It’s been a long time since I took a day off.

Work keeps me busy.
Musical commitments fill my weekend.
Living in a house . . . need I say more about home ownership?

Last Sunday was a day without commitments. Could have:

  • Worked in the yard,
  • Created marketing for the next Keeping Romance Alive event
  • Set up a table saw . . . .

My sweetheart and I tossed around ideas for the day. She suggested taking a trip to the north Georgia mountains to see the fall foliage.

I like the idea for two reasons:

  1. It’d been a long time since we got away for the day;
  2. Time is her preferred method of being romanced.

Distraction.

Saturday night we discovered a problem at the house needing our time and attention. This was reason to cancel the trip.

Addressing the problem could, realistically be postponed until Sunday night. Sunday morning we headed north.

Why do I share this?

First, I know how my sweetheart’s preferred method for being romanced – time.
I could romance her with time, making the initial decision easy.

Secondly, I committed to carrying through on the idea.
I didn’t let the situation become an excuse. I found a way around the obstacle.

Thirdly, I got to watch her enjoy the time together – without an agenda or goal.
And I got to enjoy time with her.

Especially at this time of year, I encourage you to find a way this week to romance your sweetheart in the way he/she wants to be romanced.

  • Commit to carrying through on the idea.
  • Find your way around the distractions/excuses  that will surface.
  • Enjoy romancing your sweetheart.

Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

