Romantic Little Gifts

Rows of chocolates were on display before me. This airport kiosk in Geneva wasn’t selling M&Ms, Snickers or Butterfingers. These were bars of real Swiss chocolate.

The meetings concluded about an hour ago and Geneva was the starting point for my journey.

  1. Next stop was Charles de Gaulle airport outside Paris. There I’d be sprinting with carry-on bags, hoping to arrive at my departure gate before my next flight left.
  2. Ten hours later I’d arrive in Atlanta, facing an hour trudging through customs.
  3. A 5-hour flight followed by a 2-hour drive would bring me to southern California

It was my daughter’s 18th birthday.

The 3 bars of Swiss Chocolates were not her birthday present. They were just a gift. And my daughter likes receiving gifts . . . especially dark chocolate!

Her eyes light up when she sees I have a gift for her.

Forget words, time and touch. Some people prefer to be romanced with gifts.

  • It has nothing to do with the SIZE of the gift.
  • It has nothing to do with the COST of the gift.
  • It has nothing to do with them being MATERIALISTIC.

The gift says:

  • You were thinking of me while we were apart.
  • You took time to select something  special, specifically for me.
  • I now have a tangible reminder of your caring.

If your sweetheart prefers to be romanced with gifts, indulge your sweetheart. Give small, unexpected gifts at random times.

Remember, it has nothing to do with size or cost of the gift, or because your sweetheart’s materialistic.

Your gift communicates: I thought of you. I took time. I found something special just for you.

If you have a favorite romantic gift you’ve received, share it with me. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

