Romantic Civil War Letters

Recently, my sweetheart and I watched a documentary about the U.S. Civil War. The romantic letters writing by common soldiers amazed me.

The memories of the blissful moments I have spent with you come creeping over me, and I feel most gratified to God and to you that I have enjoyed them so long. If I do not return to you unharmed, my dear Sarah, never forget how much I love you, and when my last breath escapes me on the battlefield, it will whisper your name. Sullivan Ballou, July 1861

Not all were written by men.

I pressed to my lips over and over the spot that yours had touched and tried to imagine I could feel your own precious lips & that dear moustache that I love so much. Fannie Gordon, June 1861

Some were less than eloquent.

The thought of your sweet smiles is all the company I have I trust that you are cinsere in what you have wrote to me. Your sparkling blue eys and rosey red cheeks has gaind my whole efections.  William Testerman July 1864

Every  letter of these “common soldiers” and their sweethearts read during the broadcast, and ones I read since, were filled with feelings and emotions. I wonder if we’ve lost the art of romancing with letters.

I don’t think so. I believe you can be inspired to sit down and write such a letter, romancing your sweetheart with words.

If you’re having trouble crafting your letter, here are two ways letters from another century can help you.

  1. Search the web for war love letters. Read them and catch a sense of how affections are expressed.
  2. Select 10 sentences or paragraphs which express what you’d like to say. Translate those thoughts into your own words or copy them directly.

Before you know it, you’ll be romancing your sweetheart with a letter to remember. Write on – Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

