Grateful Words for Romance

One of the four major ways of romancing your sweetheart is with words. You can use words to take your sweetheart’s heart away.

You have what I call “standard” words, like:

  • You are so beautiful to me;
  • I enjoy the way your face lights up when you look at me;
  • I love you.

There are words describing your enjoyment of spending time together, and suggestive words which create anticipation of romantic plans you’ve made.

There’s another group of words we sometimes forget to use.

Over 200 times a year for the past 15 plus years, I’ve begun my day asking two questions:

  • What am I grateful for?
  • What do I appreciate about me?

Then I take a moment to write down my answer.

There are thousands of reminders of how much I have to be grateful for and things I appreciate about me. I have notebooks full of gratefuls and appreciations ranging from specifics (i.e. grateful for my sweetheart playing golf with me) to generals (i.e. grateful for a cool morning breeze).

These notebooks are private, meant only for God and me.

What do you think might happen if at least once a week I wrote down a grateful that pertained to my sweetheart – and then shared it with her?

Do you think it would enhance our relationship and our romance if, for example, she heard me share:

  • “I’m grateful my sweetheart decided to write me one Friday night years ago” or
  • “I’m grateful for the little note she left me yesterday.”

How would it affect your relationship if in the next 7 days you shared words like this with your sweetheart? Would it enliven your romance?

Tell me what you think. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

