Romance Isn’t About Perfectin

It was an easy routine to follow. Everything was laid out before me on just two pages. All I had to do was follow the plan.

Only it wasn’t easy.

Try as I might, I didn’t follow the diet plan perfectly. Repeatedly I deviated from the plan: too much starch . . . an extra snack . . . 58 instead of 64 ounces of water. No amount of willpower kept me following the plan 100% of the time.

Have you ever read one of these blogs and thought, “That seems easy. All I need to do is do something romantic for my sweetheart once a week.”

For three weeks you keep to your plan.

Then you miss a week.

  • You went on vacation; or
  • It was tax time and collecting documents was your focus; or
  • Every day it was the kids this and the kids that.

Before you realized it, another blog appeared and you hadn’t created that romantic moment with your sweetheart.

Did you stress over this, berating yourself over missing a week and tying a string around your finger so you wouldn’t forget again? Or did you give up because you made a mistake, you weren’t perfect?

That’s way too much stress on your romantic relationship.

Last year’s QWLC’s weight loss program taught me something that also works for romance:

  1. 0I’d acknowledge when I got off plan.
  2. Realize the wavering only really delayed the weight loss.
  3. Then return to the plan.

Though I didn’t follow it perfectly, I lost the weight.

You don’t have to be the perfect romantic. If you get off your plan and miss opportunities for romance, pick up where you left off and continue in the direction of bringing more romance into your relationship.

Romance will come . . . and it doesn’t have to be perfect. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

