Impulsive Romance

Recently, I was out birthday card shopping for a couple friends with birthdays the following week.

While speed reading the cards, looking for something fun yet thoughtful, a non-birthday card distracted me. The front showed a picture of a squirrel. The message was quirky, corny and romantic.

This card was for my sweetheart – an impulse purchase.

When my sweetheart found the card on “her” side of the sofa, I got a txt msg: Haha…I love the card.

In this situation, a foundation of preparedness allowed opportunity to collude with impulse to create a moment of romance.

You can use that formula to romance your sweetheart.

First, the foundation of preparedness.
I know my sweetheart. She is amused with squirrels, finding them interesting, entertaining, and cute.

Second, the opportunity.
I’m constantly on the lookout for romantic things to get for or do with my sweetheart. I’m open to opportunities to romance her as they present themselves to me.

Third, act impulsively.
I didn’t analyzing the opportunity, trying to logically decide if it was the right thing to do. I didn’t need an “occasion”. I trusted my foundation and impulsively took advantage of the opportunity.

The result: she was romanced. It wasn’t anything big. We simply created a memory, deepening our relationship.

You can do the same thing.

  1. Learn what your sweetheart finds romantic.
  2. Proactively look for opportunities to romance your sweetheart.
  3. When the opportunity presents itself, act. Take advantage of the opportunity before it disappears.

If you’ll put this formula into practice, more romance will come to the two of you. Sometimes it’ll be something big. Many times it’ll be something small. And occasionally it won’t work. But through it all, you’ll create more romantic moments in your relationship. Robert

On a scale of 1-4 (4=very), how impulsive are you?

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impulsive Romance

  1. Lifetitudes says:

    I love this post, so insightful. I used to be impulsive 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

