More Romance This Year

Gasping for air and pumping my legs the final 50 yards of the race, I was determined to catch my friend Raymond Van Den Hoven before he crossed the finish line.

Twelve minutes earlier, Raymond and I started the longest race of our high school’s field day; 2 miles or 8 laps around the track. By the third lap I’d built a lead which eventually stretched nearly 200 yards.

I let my mind drift from the race as I just cruised lap after lap. And while I cruised, Raymond pursued his plan for the race, passing me on the final lap.

How did I squander such a comfortable lead? I didn’t plan my race and didn’t keep working at winning. I was leading.

Two lessons I learned about racing:

  1. A race requires I create and execute a plan, and
  2. When I settle and stop striving, I lose.

Today starts 2015. Happy New Year’s.

How was your 2014?

How did you do on your “romantic race” last year?

  • What plans did you make to create more romance in your relationship?
  • Did you start with one or two wonderful Romantic Interludes, then “coast”?
  • And most important, what Romantic Interludes did you and your sweetheart most enjoy?

To create more romance in 2015, follow these three steps.

  1. Write down honest answers to the above questions.
  2. Write down what you learned from the times you “successfully” romanced your sweetheart.
  3. Make specific plans for how you’ll bring more romance into your relationship.

As to the race . . . summoning my will and cheered on by my brother, I caught Raymond at the finish line. If I’d had a plan, I would have easily won.

Here’s to your winning with romance in 2015. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

