Romantic New Year’s Resolution Check-Up

I know. We’re more than 6 weeks into the new year and resolutions are history. It’s a good time to be reminded about them though.

How did it go with last year’s New Year’s Resolutions?

That question came at me out of the blue on TV the other morning. Have to admit I couldn’t answer. For the next couple days I tried to remember my Resolutions. Even searched my computer for them.

I still can’t find last year’s Resolutions.

How did you do with last year’s Resolutions?

  • Did you keep at least half of them for a couple weeks?
  • Did you get discouraged because you repeatedly stumbled and fell off the wagon?

If I can’t remember mine, it’s obvious how well I did.

This year I haven’t made any Resolutions. I decided creating a multitude of grand and lofty Resolutions would leave my life top-heavy. Their combined weight would make it too easy for me to repeatedly tip over, fall off the wagon and end up discouraged.

This year I’ve made commitments.

  • Made only a couple,
  • Accepted I won’t keep my them 100% perfectly, and
  • Committed to getting up and continuing with these commitments even when I fall.

So far I’m getting good at getting up.

I’m not pretentious to the point of telling you how to make and keep your Resolutions this year. There’s no magic mantra I can teach you.

What I suggest is create at least one commitment, a commitment to make romance an intricate part of your relationship. Commit that once-a-fortnight you either 1) do something your sweetheart considers romantic, or 2) spend time learning about being more romantic.

Consider romance yeast in your relationship: adding small amounts of romance will permeate the relationship between you, growing and developing your relationship beyond what it is today.

Leave a note and let me know how you’re doing. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

