No Romantic Bone In My Body

Our conversation about romance wasn’t going well. Every idea I suggested for romancing his sweetheart he countered with a reason, an excuse.

Exasperated, he blurted out, “It’s just I don’t have a romantic bone in my body.”

I responded, “Neither do I.”

He uncrossed his arms and scrunched his eyebrows in disbelief. “You’re the romance guy, how can you say you don’t have a romantic bone in your body?”

“Because it’s true. It’s also true you and I share the same source for romantic ideas, and it’s not in our bones.”

All of us share the same source for romantic ideas – our cranium. It’s where romantic ideas originate and where they’re refined. We all have the physical capabilities to create romantic ideas.

We weren’t born with a romance bone or genes.

As a young kid, I didn’t have romantic ideas. What I thought was romance was that yucky stuff I saw on TV. As a teenager, girls and dating became interesting. I did what I thought was romantic in order to attract girls. It was rather kludgey and self-centered.

As I matured, romantic trial-and-error, combined with observations of others, helped shift my focus from how to get a girl to how to create special moments to enhance our relationship. In time I learned:

  1. What really is romantic.
  2. Romance is about my sweetheart, about us.
  3. How to give the gift of romance.

Learning how to be romantic required:

  • Stretching my mind to recognize opportunities for romance,
  • Training my thoughts to catch those opportunities, and
  • Disciplining my brain to follow through with action.

Don’t worry if you don’t have a romantic bone in your body. You’re in good company. Romance comes from your mind. With a bit of work and exercise, yours will help you become more romantic. Robert

© 2015. this material may be shared as long as it is credited/linked to the author and this blog.

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

