Enjoy The Journey of Romance

The highway sign said, “Wilmington, N. Carolina 2,555 Miles.”

I had purchased a Dodge Stratus coupe from my brother in southern California. We played a round of golf, I topped up the fuel tank, buckled my seatbelt, figured out the gauges and headed to my goal – Atlanta, Georgia and home.  Two days and 35 hours of driving later, I pulled into my driveway. Mission accomplished.

My sweetheart spent four days with her girlfriend driving to her goal: Atlanta to Charleston, South Carolina and back again – about 600 miles. Along the way they wandered, explored, walked the beach, experienced the local flavors and visited interesting places.

We both reached our goals. Yet such different experiences.

When your goal is romancing your sweetheart, how do you approach it?

  1. Fast, direct, non-stop like me?
  2. Enjoying the trip as much as the destination, like my sweetheart?

We can get so wrapped up in achieving the “destination” of romancing our sweetheart, we miss the experience and joys of the journey.

  • Planning a night out. Savor the time creating the ideas, making reservations, buying tickets, crafting the evening.
  • Taking a walk or exploring a new part of town? Have fun researching the area and discovering different options for your romantic adventure.
  • Simply sharing time together at home with a movie? Enjoy picking the movie, selecting the snacks, adjusting the sofa.

While my sweetheart and I reached our destination, I missed opportunities like Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas, London Bridge in Lake Havasu City, Arizona, little Route 66 towns and Sun Studios in Memphis. I was so focused on the goal, I didn’t take time to enjoy the trip.

Next time you’re planning a Romantic Interlude with your sweetheart, enjoy the preparation process as well as the Interlude. Maybe double your enjoyment by planning with your sweetheart.

Enjoy the journey as well as the goal. Robert (Romance Alive)

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

