Keeping Weight Off, Keeping Romance Alive

It’s not easy. According to Gary Foster, PhD (University of Pennsylvania), my odds for success could be just 35% or lower.

Not enticing odds.

It’s been 3½ years since I got rid of 30 pounds. Arriving at this reduced size I felt more energetic, I received lots of compliments, my snoring disappeared and I look great.

London bookies consulted their cache of statistics and gave 3:1 odds that I’d recover those pounds and a few extra like most others. So far I’ve proven them wrong.

What does discarding those pounds have to do with keeping Romance Alive?

First, I’m careful with the words I use.

Notice. I don’t say I “lost” those pounds. You usually want to recover something you’ve lost. If you say you’re “trying” to be romantic, stop. Instead “bring” more romance into your relationship and “be” romantic. Words bring power to your life.

Second, I’ve changed habits.

If I return to the same eating patterns I had 4 years ago, the bookies would win. Want to bring more romance into your relationship? Terminate your “unromantic” habits. Begin and continue the habit of discovering new romantic ideas. Then put these ideas into action.

Third, I treat myself gently and positively when I start to slide into the ditch of old habits.

Sometimes I overindulge in gastronomical temptations. Old habits try to takeover. When I realize what’s going on, I readjust my intake and return to the new eating habits. When you realize you haven’t romanced your sweetheart in a while, acknowledge it’s happened, don’t beat yourself up, and reengage your new romantic habits.

You can avoid becoming a relational statistic and can choose to keep your Romance Alive. Change your vocabulary. Change your habits. Correct your course. And romance your sweetheart. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

