How Much You’ve Learned About Romance

Have you considered how much you’ve learned during your lifetime?

While heading to my car the other day, that question interrupted my thoughts. Hmmm. Over the years I learned to walk and run and read and drive. I learned to speak Spanish, use a computer and read a map. I’ve developed working skills in radio, music and computer support.

If you’d told me 30 years ago my future included drafting contracts for customers in foreign countries, I’d have felt intimidated.

Today, creating a contract for a customer in Kazakhstan doesn’t scare me. It’ll take time and effort to craft appropriate words, but I know I can do it skillfully.

Which leads to this question. What skills have you mastered which would have overwhelmed you just a few years ago?

Remember how you moved from doubts in your ability to competency? You probably:
• Learned a little at a time;
• Stretched yourself to the point of discomfort;
• Made a few missteps in the process;
• Continued learning.

Looking back you realize, “Wow! Look at the skills I’ve mastered. I really can do this.”

Learning to romance your sweetheart works the same way.

At first it’s intimidating. You don’t see yourself as a romantic. The very thought of romancing your sweetheart frightens you. But you take persistent, small steps in that direction. One experience provides the foundation for the next.

One day, and it often happens when you’re discouraged with your progress of learning to romance your sweetheart, one day you look back and, “WOW!” You realize how much progress you’ve made in learning to romance your sweetheart. In fact, you romance your sweetheart more consistently then you realized.

Take a moment. Look back at the skills you’ve developed. You are romancing your sweetheart.

It now happens more easily than it did. And tomorrow your skills will be even greater. Robert

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

