Keeping Romance Realistic

“Every day must be like a first date for you and your sweetheart, Robert. You have this endless river of romantic ideas. Wish my relationship was like that.”

You know life doesn’t really work that way. With time:

  • The wonder of a newborn becomes the daily routine of feedings and dirty diapers;
  • Moments of monotony become more frequent in your dream job;
  • The new car eventually hauls pine straw.

No matter the chills of a new relationship, over time it loses its novelty. Or you try to find ways to recreate the newness and exceed yesterday’s excitement. We know those forced escalations leave no one happy.

At this point you might be ready to turn your back on romance. Maybe you’re tempted to judge that it doesn’t make your relationship any better. Romance is unrealistic, pie-in-the-sky Fantasyland.

Before you quit reading this blogand walk away, let me say I agree with you – at least partially.

My life doesn’t go from Romantic Interlude to Romantic Interlude, each day more romantic than the last. I couldn’t keep that up. And if I did:

  • Romantic Interludes would lose their specialness, and
  • I’d become very unpleasant to be around.

In the words of my life coach Richard Flint, my sweetheart would take me to lunch and get mine to go. I’d have lost my luster.

To keep my sanity and my sweetheart, here’s how I approach romance:

  1. I proactively attract new ideas for romancing my sweetheart;
  2. When I “discover” a new idea, I record it for future use; and
  3. From time to time and on special occasions, I create a Romantic Interlude with my sweetheart.

This way you can keep your sanity, keep your sweetheart interested in you, and keep your Romance Alive.

Set realistic goals for romance and romance can make your relationship great.

How do you keep your Romance Alive?

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

