Don’t Let Others Determine Your Romantic Abilities

I forget the college English assignment. I do remember the general tone of comments made about my first composition assignment. Rather disparaging of my abilities.

After four years of Spanish classes, I decided on a school year in Valencia, Spain. Landing in Madrid, I asked directions in Spanish. “Sprechen Sie Deutsch”, I was asked. I lacked ability to speak Spanish?

The church was full to the balcony for our concert. Four days later, members of the group I led informed me they didn’t want me in the group. My singing abilities were deficient.

How would you have reacted to these?

  • Stop writing anything except personal emails and texts?
  • Quit learning Spanish?
  • Take a permanent fermata from singing in public?

Often people let others’ opinions dictate what they become. We know talented people who stopped trying because someone criticized. A friend wanted to be a doctor. A school counselor discouraged him because of his perceived talent deficiency. Honestly, he’d have made a great doc.

Here’s a truth. Others’ opinions don’t determine your abilities.

This also applies to being romantic. Maybe you’ve been told you’re not a romantic. You’ve let other’s views convince you, you lack romantic abilities.

You and I weren’t born romantics. It takes time to learn about true romance. Courage to try practicing what you learn about romancing. And persistent determination to keep developing your ability to romance your honey. Don’t let others’ opinions determine what you are or what you can become. It’s up to you to work at it, without letting others’ comments stop you. Tenaciously continue developing your romantic skills.

As soon as you believe you can learn to romance, you start becoming a romantic. And besides, you’re only trying to romance your love. Anyone else’s opinion about your ability to romance her/him is rubbish.

Robert Beagle, LET

You’re welcome to quote from or share the contents of this blog provided you credit the source.

Follow and like me for additional postings and videos on Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment