Learning to ballroom and romance

Recently I confessed I’m pretty good at ballroom dancing: gliding across a dance floor and knowing what I’m doing.

It wasn’t always that way. No siree Bob.

When I first got started, it wasn’t elegant!

Six weeks into lessons my dance instructor took several students out to a public dance.

I was ready to show off my moves.

Two painful hours and . . .

No one really wanted more than sympathy dance with me,

The few steps I knew were repeated over and over . . . with each song,

I was totally intimidated, embarrassed and ready to burn my dance shoes.

On the quiet drive home to cremate my shoes, I realized I was a teenage boy again: awkward and insecure.

Sound like learning to be romantic?

You’re ready to be Mr./Ms. romantic.

You do something you think is romantic. It doesn’t go as expected.

You watch others or maybe hear me talk about being romantic with my sweetheart and you feel intimidated.

You wonder if you’ll ever be able to romance your sweetheart.

Three things happened that helped me become a very good ballroom dancer:

1)  My teacher told me it would take about a year;

2)  “Someday,” my teacher said, ” women will say, ‘I got to dance with Robert.'” (“yea, right” I thought.)

3)  I decided to keep trying, keep taking lessons, keep learning.

And I succeeded.

Let me encourage you now.

I know you can learn to romance your sweetheart the way he/she wants to be romanced.

Just like my dancing, it will take work, determination and persistence.

This week ,take a chance. Decide to try one thing to romance your sweetheart before you receive the next article.

If this guy who grew up without dancing as a teenager can glide across the room, your sweetheart and I want know you will succeed.

Robert
Robert@RomanceALIVE.com

About RomanceALIVE

Helping people grow relationships via romance. Been studying, researching, observing what is romance and how to be romantic since the 90's.
This entry was posted in Keeping Romance Alive and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Learning to ballroom and romance

  1. camsex says:

    Thnx for posting this correct information. Keep up the good work. I’ll subscribe to your site also. Thnx!

    Like

Leave a comment